The Supreme Court has reserved its verdict on the plea of ​​12 BJP MLAs who were suspended for one year from the Maharashtra Assembly. The court completed the hearing on the matter on Wednesday. The court will now give its decision on this matter later. A three-judge bench headed by Justice AM Khanwilkar asked the parties concerned to file their written submissions within a week.

Initially, senior advocate Mahesh Jethmalani, appearing for one of the MLAs, argued that prolonged suspension is worse than expulsion as it affects the rights of the electors. Senior advocate Mukul Rohatgi, appearing for the other MLAs, said the one-year suspension was completely irrational.

The Supreme Court on Tuesday said there must be a reason to suspend the Assembly for one year and there must be a “coercive” reason for not allowing members to attend the next session. 12 BJP MLAs have challenged the resolution passed in the assembly suspending them for one year. He was suspended from the Assembly on July 5 last year. The state government had accused him of misbehaving with the presiding officer Bhaskar Jadhav in the Speaker’s chamber.

The 12 suspended members are Sanjay Kute, Ashish Shelar, Abhimanyu Pawar, Girish Mahajan, Atul Bhatkalkar, Parag Alwani, Harish Pimple, Yogesh Sagar, Jai Kumar Rawat, Narayan Kuche, Ram Satpute and Bunty Bhangadiya. The proposal to suspend these MLAs was moved by the state Parliamentary Affairs Minister Anil Parab and it was passed by voice vote.

See also  Bikram Singh Majithia gets relief from Supreme Court, arrest stayed till February 23