Sometimes Ayodhya or sometimes Mathura, finally BJP has finalized Gorakhpur seat to fight for CM Yogi. By the way, two days ago, when the news of Yogi Adityanath fighting from Ayodhya came, the political discussions in Gorakhpur had intensified. People associated with BJP and Hindu organizations were raising questions that why the CM is not fighting from Gorakhpur? Gorakhpur Mayor Sitaram Jaiswal had even demanded that the BJP-led CM be contested from any of the nine seats in Gorakhpur.

The local strategists of the party had clearly said that if CM Yogi fights from Gorakhpur, it will benefit the BJP in the entire state along with all the seats in Purvanchal. The CM has his own system of propaganda in Gorakhpur. Apart from BJP, there is a strong organization of Hindu Yuva Vahini here. After such feedback received from party leaders-workers, BJP on Saturday announced to contest the first list of 105 candidates for CM’s Gorakhpur city seat. This seat has been occupied by saffron for the last 33 years.

CM Yogi Adityanath has been an MP from Gorakhpur Sadar seat from 1998 to 2017. He first contested the Lok Sabha elections from here in 1998 as a BJP candidate. In that election, he had won by a very small margin, but after that, his victory margin increased in every election. He was elected MP in 1999, 2004, 2009, and 2014. Here in April 2002, he formed the Hindu Yuva Vahini. After becoming the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh in 2017, he left the Gorakhpur Sadar parliamentary seat. He was elected to the Legislative Council. In 2022, he will contest the assembly elections for the first time.

See also  UP Election 2022: Mamta Banerjee will roar in Modi's stronghold, mega show with Akhilesh in Varanasi; Know what is the complete program

CM will not have to spend much time-fighting Gorakhpur. They will be able to focus on other seats in the state. The local party strategists say that the BJP and Hindu Yuva Vahini have their own team in every assembly constituency of Gorakhpur. Especially in the Sadar assembly constituency, there will be hardly any locality, colony, or street where CM Yogi has not gone and does not know the people there. According to the strategists, if the CM contested from Ayodhya or Mathura, then there would have to be fresh work on the election operation team. Obviously, at the time of elections, the party and the candidate would like maximum time of CM in other seats. Mayor Sitaram Jaiswal even said that CM Yogi Adityanath has been visiting Ayodhya continuously during his tenure of five years. This sequence will continue even further but he should have fought the election from Gorakhpur itself. BJP has taken this absolutely right decision.

Saffron has been here for 33 years

The Gorakhpur Sadar assembly seat has been occupied by saffron for the last 33 years. A total of eight elections were held in these 33 years, out of which seven times the BJP and once a candidate of the Hindu Mahasabha (with the support of Yogi Adityanath) have won. It is worth mentioning that in the year 2002, Dr. Radha Mohan Das Agarwal had won from this seat under the banner of Hindu Mahasabha but joined BJP only after winning. He has been winning from this seat continuously since then. From Dr. Radha Mohan Agarwal winning the first election to date, it is believed that the equation of victory and defeat in this seat is decided in Gorakhnath temple. Before 1989, this seat was occupied by Congress. In 1989, BJP made Shiv Pratap Shukla its candidate from Gorakhpur Sadar seat and he reached the assembly by winning. Since then his winning streak continued for four consecutive elections. But in the 2002 elections, the political situation in Gorakhpur became such that Dr. Radha Mohan Das Agrawal, under the banner of Hindu Mahasabha with the support of Gorakhnath temple, came to the ground to contest against Shiv Pratap. The victory in that election went to Dr. Radha Mohan Das Agarwal’s head. However, he joined the BJP shortly after winning and has been in the BJP since then. Dr. Radha Mohan Das Aggarwal, the candidate of All India Hindu Mahasabha, got 38830 votes in that election. Whereas Samajwadi Party candidate Pramod Tekriwal got 20382 votes. Shiv Pratap Shukla, who won four consecutive times, got 14509 votes.

See also  Voting - More participation of women in Punjab in forming the government: In 2017 59 out of 117 seats were decisive, 7% in Doaba and 3.15% more in Majha